Friday, July 24, 2009


I'm sure most of you have had this experience. You're driving along, you look over at the car moving along next to you, and the driver is busy "yukking" it up on a cell phone and negotiating his car at the same time. I don't know about you, but this infuriates me! The driver on the phone is breaking the law in the state of Connecticut if he's not using a headset. The driver on the phone is jeopardizing his own safety and yours as well.

Studies have shown that when someone is talking on a cell phone, or texting and driving, the risk of that person having a car accident is four times greater than if he/she were not using the cell. We all know this - there is no question, talking on a cell phone, or texting while driving can cause accidents - endanger the driver's life, and other's also. That's why many states including Connecticut have laws on their books that restrict the use of cell phones while driving. The law was enacted to help save lives and the law clearly states:

  • Drivers 18 years of age and older need hands-free accessories to legally use cell phones or mobile electronic devices while operating a motor vehicle.

  • New drivers who are 16 or 17 years of age are restricted from using any type of cell phone or mobile device while driving even with hands-free accessories.

There are some exceptions which deal with emergency usage. But other than emergencies, if someone is caught breaking the law, they could receive a ticket, at least a 30-day suspension of their driver's license and they may be required to attend an operator retraining class if there are other violations. Check out CT laws